IFS Eligibility Criteria / Indian Forest Service Examination

Union Public Service Commission

Indian Forest Service Examination (IFS)


Indian Forest Service or IFS was firstly created in the year 1966. It is the Forestry Service of India. It is one of the services of the Indian Government. Its employees are recruited by conducting an entrance examination. The employees are recruited by the national government but the selected candidates have to be served for the State or Central Government. This entrance examination is conducted annually. Entry to the examination is open to those candidates who fulfill the eligibility criteria.

Eligibility Criteria

Educational Qualification  Required

1. Must be a graduate with at least one of the subjects namely Animal Husbandry & Veterinary Science, Botany, Chemistry, Geology, Mathematics, Physics, Statistics, and Zoology OR

2. A graduate in Agriculture, Forestry or in Engineering from a recognized University.

3. Final year students can also apply but if they are selected then their admission will be provisional and have to submit the proof of clearing their examination



1. Applicant should be between the age of 21 years and 30 years, that is he should have born between 02 – 07 – 1981 and 01 – 07 – 1990

2. SC / ST applicants will have maximum 5 years as upper age limit

3. Three years for OBC applicants

4. Five years for applicants who have temporarily domiciled in Jammu & Kashmir during the period from 01 – 01 – 1980 to 31 – 12 – 1989

5. Defence Service Personnel have maximum of three years of upper age limit

6. Five years in case of Ex – Servicemen

7. For ECOs / SSCOs who have completed five years in Military Service enjoys the benefit of maximum five years of upper age limit.

8. Applicants who are orthopedically handicapped, deaf, mute, blind have ten years of upper age limit.


1. Indian Citizen

2. A subject of Nepal

3. A subject of Bhutan

4. Indian origin persons who have migrated from Burma, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, or East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, and Ethiopia or from Vietnam with a thought of settling in India permanently.

5. A Tibetan refugee who came to India with a thought of settling here permanently before 01 – 01 – 1962.

6. Applicants who come under categories mentioned in point’s 2, 3, 4 and 5 should provide the relevant certificate issued by the Government of India.

Number of attempts

1. The eligible candidates can apply four times to the examination.

2. Number of attempts is not applicable for Schedule Caste and Schedule Tribe applicants who are otherwise eligible

3. Seven attempts are allowed to OBC applicants who are otherwise eligible.


Physical Standards

Applicants have to be physically fit as per the standards of the Indian Forest Service Examination.

IFS Eligibility Criteria / Indian Forest Service Examination
Rate this post

More Govt Jobs given below