SCRA Eligibility Criteria / Special Class Railway Apprentices


Union Public Service Commission

Special Class Railway Apprentices



It was the year of 1927, when the programme called Special Class Railway Apprentices (SCRA) was introduced in India. Currently, this is the gateway for the students to the Indian Railways. Special Class Railway Apprentices is an entrance examination conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), New Delhi for the recruitment of applicants in Mechanical Engineering in the Indian Railways.

The applicants who qualify in this test have a very bright future. The experience of being promoted to high level can be easily achieved. At the initial stage, the applicant will be recruited as an officer in the junior scale. After two years of experience, the applicant is posted as the Senior Scale. Since then there is no looking back. After a service of six to seven years, the applicant will be posted as Junior Administrative grade. And then, the series of promotion goes on as the service of an applicant towards the railways increases.

 UPSC SCRA Eligibility Conditions:

The applicants have to keep in mind the following conditions while applying for SCRA:

1. Age Limit

i. The applicant must be between the age of 17 years and 21 years. It means an applicant should have born between 02 – 08 – 1990 and 01 – 08 – 1994.

ii. Applicants belonging to SC / ST category have upper age limit maximum of 5 years.

iii. OBC candidates have maximum of three years as upper age limit

iv. From 01 – 01 – 1980 to 31 – 12 – 1989, any applicant who domiciled in Jammu & Kashmir can avail maximum of 5 years of upper age limit

v. Maximum three years for defence service personnel

vi. Five years for ECOs / SSCOs who have served five years in Military Service

vii. Applicants, who are blind, deaf, mute and orthopedically handicapped have ten years as maximum upper limit.

viii. For ex-serviceman maximum of five years

2. Nationality

i. Indian Citizen

ii. A subject of Nepal

iii. A subject of Bhutan

iv. A Tibetan refugee who came to India with a thought of settling here permanently before 01 – 01 – 1962.

v. Indian origin persons who have migrated from Burma, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, or East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, and Ethiopia or from Vietnam with a thought of settling in India permanently.

vi. Applicants who come under categories mentioned in point’s ii, iii, iv and v should provide the relevant certificate issued by the Government of India.

3. Educational Background

i. Applicant must have passed intermediate with first or second division or an equivalent examination of a university or Board approved by Government of India

ii. Should have mathematics and at least any one of the subjects Physics and Chemistry

iii. Must have cleared first year examination under three year degree course

iv. Must have passed in the 1st or 2nd division in the Pre engineering examination

v. Must have cleared first year of the five year engineering course

4. Physical standard

Applicants have to be physically fit as per the standards of the Special Class Railway Apprentices examination.

For more information click the link below:

SCRA Eligibility Criteria / Special Class Railway Apprentices
Rate this post

More Govt Jobs given below

Kerala TET / Teacher Eligibility Test Notification

Teacher Eligibility Test of Kerala (K-TET) Notification

Competitive Examination, to adjudge eligibility of aspirant of Lower Primary Teacher, Upper Primary Teacher & High Schools Teacher, is due in Kerala state. As you know well, after implementation of RTE Act 2009 any state of India is abided  by common rule, while making appointment on teaching positions. All states have to organize separate Teacher Eligibility Test (TET), whenever teaching faculty required. Move to conduct TET was taken to improve teaching standard at primary level.

 » Read more about: Kerala TET / Teacher Eligibility Test Notification  »

ESIC Delhi UDC, MTS Recruitment Know Application Status

Application Stutus of MTS in ESIC Delhi 2012

As we know, ESIC New Delhi had issued a recruitment notification for the post of Upper Division Clerks (UDC) and Multi Tasking Staff (MTS) in the Pay Band Rs.5200 to 20200 with Grade Pay of Rs.Rs.2400 and Rs.1800 respectively. The total vacancies for both the posts were 204, Out of which 137 for Upper Division Clerk (UDC) and 67 for Multi Tasking Staff (MTS). Well,

 » Read more about: ESIC Delhi UDC, MTS Recruitment Know Application Status  »

JPSC 4th Combined Civil Services Mains Exam Schedule

JPSC 4th Combined Civil Services Mains Exam 2012 Exam Schedule

Jharkhand Public service Commission (JPSC) has just announced the Exam Schedule for the Mains Exam of 4th Combined Civil Services. Candidates who have qualified in the Preliminary Test (PT) and obviously  applied for this Examination and eligible to appear in this mains written exam can know the Exam  schedule through the weblink given below –

JPSC 4th Combined Civil Services Mains Exam Schedule

This main written examination will be started from  25/05/2012 and it will end on 15/06/2012.

 » Read more about: JPSC 4th Combined Civil Services Mains Exam Schedule  »

HPSSSB Clerk Exam Know Your Roll No. and Centre

HPSSSB Clerk Exam 2012 

Himachal Pradesh Subordinate Services Selection Board (HPSSSB) has just released a notification to find out  roll number and Exam centre for the written examination of Clerk 2012. Candidates who have applied for this post and waiting for knowing examination schedule, roll number and centre of exam  etc may know it after clicking the web link provided for this purpose like this —

HPSSSB Roll number and Centre of exam for the post of Clerk 

Interested Candidates who have applied for this post and wanting to  know the schedule,

 » Read more about: HPSSSB Clerk Exam Know Your Roll No. and Centre  »

HP Combined Medical Entrance Test / HPCPMET Notification

HP State Combined Pre-Medical Entrance Test Notification

An announcement about HPCPMET 2012 has been made by HP University. As you know well that HPCPMET is common entrance test, which is organiesed every year for choosing eligible candidates for taking Admission in MBBS & BDS courses in Govt. Colleges and Private colleges of HP State. This year HPCPMET will be organised on 25th May 2012. Regrading HPCPMET 2012, applications are invited from Those  who are between 17 to 25 years of age and completed 12th with PCB.

 » Read more about: HP Combined Medical Entrance Test / HPCPMET Notification  »

Disclaimer: we provide job information based on information from different job website.although we take extreme care for accuracy of the information provided, but you must check the authenticity of the website before applying for the job. We are not responsible for your operation , once you leave our website and apply thereafter. Please recheck the genuineness of the job website from your end. Exams|Exam Pattern | Contact us| Privacy Policy